August 21st, 2010: Aeron GossipGirl

Most of my SL friends would be surprised to know that I’m actually quite shy and not a person who makes new friends easily in RL. I guess the reason would be the way I look. I was born with a rare condition that’s required me to have many surgeries, the first of which when I was only 6 days old, to fix my numerous birth defects. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t consider myself ugly, but the scars on my face and back of my legs are kind of hard to ignore. When I meet someone for the first time, I automatically gauge their reaction to me; do they stare at the scars around my mouth? Are they looking at the ones just below my nose? Or could they possibly have already looked at my feet in these flip-flops, and seen that I only have four toes on my right foot? To say the two days I spent at college orientation were uncomfortable would be an understatement. I knew the people I was meeting would be my peers for the next 4 years, and that scared me. I was comfortable with high school, where even though I was not popular, I was around people I’ve known since elementary school; they at least knew my story. So I was scared of being judged by them, the future sorority girls and frat boys, and worried I would not find a place to belong.

Now I sit, looking back on my first week of being on my own; no best friends or familiar faces. How was this week?

If you were expecting me to say amazing, you’re wrong. Or to say terrible, also incorrect. The truth is, it’s been just alright. Whenever you’re forced out of your comfort zone it’s going to suck. However, I’ve made a few new friends in my dorm and classes. I’ve also realized that if you want to make your own path in life, you can’t care too much about what others think of you. Also, starting over is good, no matter how much it sucks at first.

I can’t wait to see what I do with my clean slate.

____________________

Aeron GossipGirl is an 18 year old freshman at the University of Alabama. She is obsessed with Dr Pepper and the color green, loves unhealthy fried southern foods, and is currently planning her dream vacation to the United Kingdom in great detail. She has not had much time for Second Life in the past few months, but when she does log on she enjoys bothering her friends, shopping, and continuously redecorating her skybox.

2 Responses to “August 21st, 2010: Aeron GossipGirl”

  1. kissezandtrix Says:

    Jennifer, I think you are pretty damn awesome! I knew your personality before I ever entered your real existence, and being allowed into your life and who you really are, just proved what I already knew, you are a strong individual, and a total dork. I love you forever, and am beyond happy we have crossed paths in life! I am better for it <3

  2. Arlana GossipGirl Says:

    Oh Jennifer! I love you to pieces and, I too, am so glad that I have a chance to know you! You are going to go so far in life!! Even if you are from Alabama :p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

