September 21st, 2010: Bacchus Ireto

Driving home from student teaching today, I decided it was time for fall. It was 90 degrees in East Tennessee, but I still had the windows rolled down and was enjoying the breeze and the views of the mountains.

That’s what made me decide it was fall…you could actually see the Smokeys today, and the sky had that fall blue color I wait for every year.

Since it’s still a good month before the trees around Knoxville will be changing, I decided it was time for fall on my sims, since I could start enjoying the fall colors now.

Yes, sims, plural, I have a small residential estate of 5 sims in Second Life.   So many people talk about creating a community in Second Life, and I like to think I actually have.  I have neighbors I see every day, and if they do not log in I wonder where they are.

Besides the sims, I like to build, and the owner of the neighboring estate wanted to show me a staircase he built. His sims are Scottish themed (mine are the American Upper Midwest–think Wisconsin) and he has been working on a Scottish Baronial manor house for a while and I have been stopping by to inspect the progress.

We got to talking about where he grew up, which is a small town on the Orkney Islands, in the north of Scotland. That’s one of the most amazing things about Second Life, how you meet people from all over the world–my best SL friends  are from Greece, the UK,  Canada, and Australia,  as well as various places in the US.

I would have never met these incredibly interesting people had it not been for playing a game that no one in my real life (except my roommate, who thinks I am a freak) knows I play for 3 or 4 hours a day.  Have you ever had one of those moments where a RL buddy asks what has been going on, and you first have to filter out all of the Second Life news before you can respond?  I do, all the time.

Well, I need to finish planting some trees…..

____________________

Bacchus Ireto is 22 years old and a senior at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville (Go Vols!).  When he is not redecorating his house or landscaping in Second Life he is the owner of Taliesin Farms Realty and Bacchitecture: Luxury Homes by Bacchus Ireto, and also manages and hosts at The Den on Hinterland.

2 Responses to “September 21st, 2010: Bacchus Ireto”

  1. Suti Capalini Says:

    It’s great to cause an impact, especially if it’s caused a group of individual people to come together. Great post, Bacc! :)

  2. December 2nd, 2010: Bacchus Ireto – Cont’d « Two Three Six Five Says:

    [...] Bacchus’ previous post was on September 21st, 2010. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

