March 1st, 2010: Emery Milneaux

Sterling and I met face-to-face a little over a year ago, about a year after we first met in-world.  We both lived in L.A., minutes from each other, but never talked about meeting up irl.  That is, until my SL partner of 14 months broke up with me and I left the game.

I was hurting more than I ever had before.  For the first time, I felt alone and was terrified.  I needed someone to listen and not judge, simply ‘cause they didn’t “get it.”  Having been by my side on SL and witness to my relationship’s downfall, Sterling was better equipped to empathize than any of my rl friends were.  I remember feeling I had no choice but to meet her if I wanted to stay sane.

So met, we did.  And sane, I stayed.

As our friendship transitioned from virtual to physical, I learned there was a lot to love about the girl behind the avatar.  But I most admired her strength and courage.  In hearing her stories and all she’s overcome in her own life, I realized: You’ve gotta go through it before you’re over it.  And in that epiphany, I found light at the end of my tunnel.

Meeting Sterling changed my life.  I, in fact, found love on SL, just not in whom I thought I would.  And for that, I have no regrets.  Today, just over a year since we first met irl, she’s one of my best friends in both worlds.  She’s on her way here now, actually. We’re doing dinner at one of the many restaurants across the street from my place and watching The Bachelor finale together.

It’s a trip, the connections we make on a virtual platform. I think it’s ‘cause we feel “safe” behind our computer monitors, as if those we engage on SL are incapable of hurting us. I now know better, but I’m glad I found Sterling when I was more naïve.  It allowed me to open up in ways I haven’t with very many else. If any of you get the chance to meet someone you’re close to in-world, out of game, I’d say jump on it.  I’m glad I did.

____________________

Emery Milneaux was born and raised in Los Angeles, California, where he still resides today and works as a freelance graphic designer. After a 6-month hiatus, he’s back on SL, where he shares an apartment with best friend, Sterling, manages the store, Naith Smit Design and enjoys spending time with friends and his boyfriend, Umberto.

10 Responses to “March 1st, 2010: Emery Milneaux”

  1. Naith Smit Says:

    This was such an amazing start to the two three six five blog, I think the deeper meanings in this story is something that we all can hope to take and experience ourselves.

    Great job emery

  2. Divos Titanium Says:

    I agree – a great kickoff to the two three six five blog!!! Thank you for sharing this story. There are so many people we meet on SL that come into our lives, but to truly transition someone to your RL and have them become one of your best friends is truly an amazing gift.

    I am proud of both of you and happy I have gotten to know you over the last few months. You both add some sugar and spice to my virtual world (I will let you figure out who is who on that one :) and I am glad to know that despite being behind a computer screen, people can still make an impact in your life.

    All the best. Cheers! <3

  3. Kianna Noel Says:

    I am so proud that you had the balls to do the first one! It was awesome and I am really blessed to have you and Sterling as friends and know your guys story not only from what is told but because i’ve had the chance to see it as well. You are a big part of my SL and more entertaining than anyone I have ever met lol
    <3 and soon I look forward to meeting you since youre right up the street whatupneighbor

  4. Noor Says:

    Amazing story, beautiful pic – and I agree, must have taken a lot of guts to be the first one of a year long blog.
    Kudos to you!

  5. Amelie Bramlington Says:

    what a wonderful debut for a wonderful project : )

    really enjoyed reading your story emery& thanks a lot for sharing this with us ♥

  6. Emery Milneaux Says:

    Aw. Thanks, guys. Some pressure came with doing day one, I guess. Honestly though? Keeping it under 365 words was what I found most tricky. I could’ve gone on and on and on. Haha…

    I’m anxious to see how the project grows this next year. It really is such a cool idea, Trace, and I’m way honored to’ve started it off.

  7. Lizzie Lexington Says:

    Lovely post. It made me smile :)

  8. Sterling Jaxxon Says:

    I feel honored that you would write this post about me and our friendship. You mean the world to me and I think those who know us can definitely say that we are true and REAL!!! Thank you for this. And everything. I love you. <3

  9. Thorn Venom Says:

    Thanks for sharing, Emery. It’s inspiring to hear how bridging the SL/RL gap worked out for you.

Leave a Reply

