March 7th, 2010: Clear Canning

Today is the last day of my old life. As I sit in my house on SL with the love of my life, Shane Kirshner, I realize that these days I’ll have to be able to share with her in this way are coming to an end. We talk to each other on skype and do pretty much everything we possibly can with each other while on SL. But now it’s different. Everything is changing tomorrow and I don’t know if I’m ready for it. Tomorrow I go back to school.

On Monday I’ll start my new adventure as a college student  again. This means more to me than everything right now, except her. I finished college when I was twenty two, but the degree I have is something I don’t want to do for the rest of my life. For six years I’ve been working a dead end job with no hope for a future.  One day I decided I wanted a change. I decided I wanted to make something out of my life. I didn’t want to do this anymore so I did research and found a school that would be the most accommodating with my real life schedule considering I’m still working full time. I chose Accounting. March 8th will be my first day of class.

Shane and I live a world away. She lives in the UK where I’m stuck in the US. We say we’re saving money to meet each other (The Cause) but with both of our financial situations it seems as if it’ll take forever. It’s hard to know your heart is somewhere clear across the world. Today, this is why I sit with her and only her on our land because tomorrow everything will change. I’ll become really busy and I don’t know how we’re going to see each other. I have to tell myself that this is the right thing because in order for me to get closer to her I need to get a better education. I’m not only going to school for myself. I’m going for my future, but I know I won’t have too much of one if she’s not in it.

____________________

Clear Canning lives in the Midwestern United States and is currently going back to school. In Second Life she runs a small blog with her girlfriend, Shane Kirshner, called Les Girls!. She is also a former store manager at Naive.

One Response to “March 7th, 2010: Clear Canning”

  1. Shane Kirshner Says:

    i love you.

Leave a Reply

