March 20th, 2010: Makenzie Irling

As a child I was shy and awkward, actually, still am shy and awkward just a little better at hiding it.  Growing up in an abusive home hindered me from opening up and allowing me to be…me. I spent a lot of time escaping into far off places tucked away between the bindings of any book I could get my hands on. I wanted to be like the people I read about, they were strong and I wasn’t at all.

I got to a point in my life where I stopped fighting back and that’s when I completely lost who I was.  I became a smiling, overly optimistic teenager who everyone thought was perfectly ok.  I started dating a really great guy and I felt for the first time someone actually saw through the facade, they saw all the flaws and loved me anyway.  We dated for five years, talked about getting married, growing old, the whole bit.

The day I stumbled upon Second Life I had no clue what it was or how it would make my life change.  It was a place that could be anything you wanted, like a story come to life. For the first time I was able to be the person I was always too scared to be and it felt amazing.

My life started changing after that, I realized I didn’t want to get married and I wanted to explore life. I had a new outlook on who I was and I was starting to like me, to not feel as if I was damaged and fragile.  As the relationship ended and my life pretty much got flipped upside down I turned to my friends in Second Life.  Countless hours of laughing and talking and crying and virtual hugs, they held my hand through every bump in the road.  Now two years later I realize I’m more confident, more outgoing, more comfortable with myself and for the first time in my whole life I know, I’m not alone. Wherever my life takes me they’ll be there.

____________________

Makenzie Irling lives in the oh-so-wonderful state of Ohio where she is currently working towards continuing school. She enjoys both SL and RL photography, loathes going to work and loves to read whenever she can.  In Second Life Makenzie has her own fashion blog and is thinking about starting an interior design blog (seeing as how she is always redecorating her house).

3 Responses to “March 20th, 2010: Makenzie Irling”

  1. December Says:

    I think if we all took the time to examine ourselves, and how we have changed since finding SL, we would all realize how much it has helped us to find ourselves.

    <3 you, beautiful girl!

  2. luxeurious Says:

    <3 you!

  3. August 19th, 2010: Makenzie Irling – Cont’d « Two Three Six Five Says:

    […] Makenzie’s previous post was on March 20th, 2010. […]

Leave a Reply

