March 29th, 2010: Kaira Coronet

Gardening was always my grandma’s thing, and let me tell you—she was good at it. I remember how excited I would get around this time of year. Spring meant it was time to start working in the garden! We had our own little routine: She would do most of the big work while I was off at school, but she would always leave some simple tasks for me when I got home. It was hard work for a little girl, and boy did it wreak havoc on my allergies, but good God I loved gardening. There was nothing better to me than the feel of dirt in my hands, or the smell of the flowers as they started blooming. It was my own personal heaven.

This gardening routine between us occurred every year, up until she was diagnosed with and eventually lost her battle to leukemia when I was fourteen. My world ended. How could I function without this one woman who has been more of a mother to me than my own mother ever had? I spent many days the summer after she died, sitting in that very garden, trying to figure out what I was supposed to do. Then the unthinkable happened, my mother sold my grandma’s house. The garden was no longer mine, and there was nothing I could do about it. Right before we left for the last time, I ran out to the garden and dug up a few of her irises. They never grew for me. I was crushed. My last real link to my grandmother was dead, just like she was.

Time somehow went on, and now I find myself almost 8 years later, living in the city with no garden whatsoever. At least, no real garden. Sitting on a table in my second life house, there is a small flower pot with an iris in it. Her favorite flower.

When I see that iris sitting there, I can still recall the smell of the garden in the spring. It gets harder to remember as time passes, and that terrifies me. Life, at it’s best, is bittersweet.

____________________

Kaira Coronet was born and raised in the good ‘ole Kentucky countryside. She is 22 years old, and really does nothing productive at all when it comes to SL, unless you count being able to spend large amounts of lindens at an alarmingly fast rate.

3 Responses to “March 29th, 2010: Kaira Coronet”

  1. Kissy Says:

    You are amazing, and this is an amazing post.

    I Love you <3

  2. glamorpuss Says:

    Absolutely beautiful post. Thank you for sharing.

  3. August 7th, 2010: Kaira Coronet – Cont’d « Two Three Six Five Says:

    […] Kaira’s previous post was on March 29th, 2010. […]

Leave a Reply

