March 30th, 2010: Gemma Mornington

Growing up I had a plan for how I wanted my life to turn out; graduating high school with honors, college, having my own boutique, married at 23, and kids by 25.  Obviously I knew things wouldn’t go exactly as planned, but I figured most of it would happen.  You don’t really expect for something to change your life so drastically that everything you know and want fades completely into the background.

I became chronically ill when I was 14.  Instead of going to school regularly, I began going to doctor visits regularly.  My health issues overshadowed and changed my direction.  I was forced to complete high school differently than your average teenager.  Because of this, I missed out on knowing how to handle social interactions.  My life continues to not go as I planned since I’m now 25 years old and still dealing with the constant pain and fatigue from my illnesses.

I found Second Life just by chance in 2007, but I didn’t actually start playing until the end of March 2008.  I didn’t expect a game to change my life, but seeing as it has been roughly two years, I can honestly say it has.  It has allowed me to live a life with good friends, laughter, shopping, and have real memories.  I still have a lot more to learn and more mistakes will probably be made, but that is the parallel between real life and Second Life.

____________________

Gemma Mornington was born and raised in Houston, Texas.  She loves to lose herself in a good book and enjoys the company of her cat.   In Second Life, she is an aspiring clothing designer, has her own blog, Gemma’s Jewels, and is a new blogger for Fashion Cracked.

Leave a Reply

