April 1st, 2010: Ash Sweetwater

Hi, I’m Ash and I’m a recovering wallflower.

I was the nerdygirl in your high school who’d help you with your homework but that you didn’t invite to the parties.  I’ve always been the perpetual designated driver because I’m afraid to really let myself have fun.  I can’t really say that I’m bitter about it, but all in all I am fairly socially phobic.  With that being said, I came to SL in 2007 with no expectations.  I imagined I’d wander around aimlessly and do random spazzy things.  What I was really looking for was a way to escape the monotony and overall loneliness of my RL.

What I didn’t realize was that it would end up truly changing the way that I see myself.  I began to make real connections with some wonderful people.  I began to open up and feel more confident in SL, but what’s really strange is how that began to carry over into my day-to-day life.  I felt better about myself.  I dressed differently.  I began conversations with random strangers.  I was smiling more and giggling more.  I also realized I was standing in random ass poses from my AO.  Then I randomly wrote a check for 25L$ at the water department, and this one time I actually said LOL out loud (but that can be our little secret…ok?).  Slowly but surely I was becoming a happier person.

I chose today to write, because a year ago my best friend Lizzie and I decided to declare our undying love in a touching April Fool’s Day wedding ceremony.  While our mocktrimony was planned for giggles, it’s one of the most memorable of all my Second Life.  I’m a different person than I was when I logged onto SL for the first time, and a whole lot of that is due to the friendship that Liz and I have shared.  If I had a twin, it’d be her.  Thanks Liz for sharing this world and the real one with me.   Happy Anniversary Cuppycake.

____________________

Ash Sweetwater lives in backwoods Alabama with her smidget.  She spends her RL work days wrangling thuglings and her free time camping, kayaking, and baking yummy stuff.  She’d love to insert all the cool things she makes and does in SL but alas there are none.  Mostly she moves around prim furniture and annoys her friends with her spazpower.

5 Responses to “April 1st, 2010: Ash Sweetwater”

  1. Lizbet Loening Says:

    I love you, sugarplum. That day will always remain one of my most favorite days ever in SL. Happy Anniversary! I’m so very glad both of our socially awkward asses found each other in SL. My love and admiration for you extends way beyond the pixel world. <3

  2. arianna earst Says:

    Your post made me smile and also reminded me of how I have changed after being in Second Life. It’s amazing how a virtual world can effect our real world. It’s wonderful to see that it has had a positive change on who you are as a person.

  3. Norajean Jonson Says:

    Beautifully written! Sometimes I think you are meant to meet certain people – they are meant to be in your life. Clearly that is the case with yourself and Liz. You were meant to be friends, and how cool is it that this virtual world brought you two together when otherwise you may never have crossed paths. No need to ever go back to being a wallflower, your heart is far too lovely for that. <3

  4. Krissy Muggleston Says:

    Ditto. :)

  5. Amelie Bramlington Says:

    i love your language and unconsciously..it made me giggle : ) i dont know you, but your post was soo unbelievably likeable and – simpatico!:D

    i said LOL out loud too for once in my life and it was soo embarassin (well for me at least .__.) haha hi5 :D

Leave a Reply

