April 11th, 2010: Rico Plisskin

Click here to listen to the Author read his post.

I remember a year and 11 days ago that my life changed for the better.  I was ill for 2 months and could barely get out of bed until I ran into the right doctor and found the right medicine for myself before almost losing my job after 9 years.

Every year I watch SL grow and change whether it was for the good or the bad and meeting new people who become such an inspiration and play a big role in my life.   I remember starting SL back in 2003 when there was only a few sims to go on and a very familiar sound you would hear are the wind chimes.  It is rare to come across these days but I am sure they are there and become quite nostalgic.

Today I realize how lucky I am and how blessed I have been with the friends around me and the support I get from RL and SL.  A lot of fun moments every day and night and just always something new to look forward to on the weekends and after work.  Half of the time I end up singing and playing guitar for a special group of friends I have been spending time with. The cool thing about them is that some of them are fantastic musicians themselves.  What were the odds of that?

In my 7 years of being on SL I finally decided for tomorrow to actually rent land for residential use on my own just so I could help support the sim owner but also to spend more time with the gang.  They are my neighbors and have become my best friends that I felt like I have been missing for the longest time.  They are truly some of the most talented and comical people I have met here and it is just a breath of fresh air to have them around.

It has become a long journey and I am curious where this long road will lead me to next.  All I can say is that it has been the greatest weekend in a long time and want to thank the Pemberley Gang for making it that way for me.

____________________

Rico Plisskin was born and raised in Peoria, IL area until his High School years as he moved to St. Louis, MO.  After school he became a candy chef for a small chocolate factory and spends a lot of his time writing and playing music with his guitars and singing as well as photography. He also is a designer in SL whom tends to procrastinate too much.

One Response to “April 11th, 2010: Rico Plisskin”

  1. Arcadia Nightfire Says:

    Very nice entry. And it’s always interesting to run into other people from St. Louis in Second Life. :)

Leave a Reply

