April 24th, 2010: Alicia Chenaux

When I woke up this morning, with the spring sunshine streaming through my window, my first thought was, “Thank you, God. You helped us survive the night.” After the past couple of years, and even more in the past six months, I’ve learned to have faith. Not just in God, but in everything.

When I started Second Life, so many years ago, it found me at a time when I needed something. When I was, in a sense, having a crisis of faith.  I thought it would be a game.  I discovered it was far more.  But being in the middle of that crisis of faith, something I never talked about with anyone, I handled everything in a way I shouldn’t have.  I thought if I was whatever anyone wanted me to be, that would fix it.  I was wrong.  I was seeking something that wasn’t there, something that I couldn’t put a name to.  When it finally hit me, when I found myself actually curled up and crying on the floor, at last letting loose the grief that had held me for so many years – that was the real beginning.  I couldn’t take anyone with me.  They didn’t know me.  I was just beginning to know myself.  But I had the faith that things would get better. They did so in ways I never would have expected.

Stumbling to the computer on this beautiful Saturday morning, coffee in hand, I fire up my email, various social networking sites, and Second Life.  I smile at the IMs that pop up, the private plurks left overnight, the notices of sales and parties.  Good morning, I tell my friends.  Their greetings wrap me up in a warmth that they don’t realize.  They allow me to just be me, quirks, flaws and all.  I thank God again for them.

I have faith that today is going to be a good day.

____________________

Alicia Chenaux s a Texas girl who is usually over-caffeinated. In Second Life, she currently writes on three different blogs, DJs on occasion, models, and is in love with her island, butterflies, and the color pink.  In the physical world, she helps take care of her aging parents, is the mommy to a crazy cat named Holly, gets hiccups when she laughs too much, and fully admits to being terribly addicted to her phone.

2 Responses to “April 24th, 2010: Alicia Chenaux”

  1. callie cline Says:

    i lOVE your post! i am just now reading them!!!! i can relate in a lot of ways and it was just touching to read!

    blessings to you. xoxo

  2. October 24th, 2010: Alicia Chenaux – Cont’d « Two Three Six Five Says:

    […] Alicia’s previous post was on April 24th, 2010. […]

Leave a Reply

