April 29th, 2010: AliannaMarie GossipGirl

Today started off like any other. I’d woken up, feeling grateful that I had even done so with little to no regret. I’d gotten my homework done, plurked a bit, and even spent a little time with my mother. It’s days like these that mean the world to me, mainly because if it wasn’t for SL, I wouldn’t be where I am today.

Thanks to a wonderful medium called television, I’d gone to the SL section of the Gossip Girl website and signed up. It wasn’t long before I was welcomed by a moderator, given a ridiculous amount of clothes, and was left on my own. I felt overwhelmed, as if everything was too much to take in all at once, and tried to log off. The only problem was, I couldn’t figure out how! Meanwhile in RL, I was just as lost. Severe depression had caused me to take a medical leave from college, and I was living at home rather than experiencing life on campus. I felt like I failed; I’d worked so hard to get where I wanted to go, only to have it fall apart in a matter of months. Everyone else could survive college, why couldn’t I?

Eventually, I’d gotten my bearings and began to explore the grid. I made friends, I tried new things, and most importantly–I’d begun to love myself again. I’d never been happier than when I was logged in, each session like therapy to me. I wasn’t held back by the restrictions that had plagued my real life, so it allowed me to be more open. It was like I wasn’t even depressed! In fact, my personality flowed so freely that it shocked me. Pretty soon, the transition began to make its way into RL as well.

Thanks to SL, therapy, and medication, I have gotten over my sadness. I now spend more days out rather than staying at home in bed, wondering when my life had taken such a downturn. Though depression will always be something that I have to manage, thanks to SL, I know it is something I can handle. Everyday I get a little stronger, and that’s more than enough for me.

____________________

AliannaMarie GossipGirl lives in the Northeastern region of the United States. In SL you can mostly find her making clothes for her store, [Insatiable Fashions]. When she’s not doing that, you can often find her shopping, dancing at clubs or spending time with her SL family. But mostly shopping. Just don’t tell anyone. In RL, she is a student once again, majoring in communication and hopes to become a non-linear editor. But most of the time, she’s totally thinking about shopping in SL. Or, joyriding in her car in RL. It depends on the moment.

Leave a Reply

