May 8th, 2010: Arlana Gossipgirl

Once a month, on a Saturday, I donate platelets. Since it is always early in the morning, on my only day off, I usually just throw on the most comfortable clothes I can find. Today, I grabbed a pair of jeans, a black t-shirt that says “OU MSW” and a pair of flip-flops. The only shoes I wear during the spring and summer months, except to work – because they won’t let me.

When I was tucking in the pockets of my jeans, I felt a well-worn, tiny slip of paper. Curious, I pulled it out, unrolled it and recognized the fortune from the fortune cookie I got in Chinatown last weekend during a trip to San Francisco – my mom’s Mother’s Day present. I remembered that I decided to keep it, not for what it said, but because it was an actual fortune, a rarity these days. Personally, I think they should just rename them advice cookies, it would be a more accurate description.

Anyway, this particular fortune said, “You will soon be receiving some good written news”. I have always thought of fortune cookies as silly, harmless fun. However, when I read those words again today, I got a little chuckle at the irony of it all. Today, I received a formal letter stating I had passed my comprehensive exam for my Master’s in Social Work, which means I get to graduate!

Thinking about my upcoming graduation is bittersweet. I could paint a perfect picture of the misery and hardship of my past, the fears I have for my future or the people I will be leaving behind but I won’t do that. Right now, today, it’s about moving forward. Breaking free of the past and starting anew. In three days time, I will walk across a makeshift stage at some convention center and receive a fake diploma (they will replace it with a real one later!!) wishing that my friends from SL could be there with me. Because of those relationships I have built in SL over the last two years, I have found a stillness and a bravery in myself I never knew I had. Thanks for everything!

____________________

Arlana GossipGirl is a 25-year-old female who lives in Broken Arrow, Oklahoma with her parents, which is as nerve-racking as it sounds. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Social Work and is about to receive her Master’s in the same field. Next, it’s law school…hopefully. She wishes to spend the rest of her life working with families, the issues being child centered, and advocating for children’s rights. In SL she does nothing noteworthy. If she is able to sign in, she does it just for her friends, but that time is few and far between these days. After a little over 2 years in SL, she is still a noob in a lot of ways!

6 Responses to “May 8th, 2010: Arlana Gossipgirl”

  1. Quaintly Tuqiri Says:

    Congratulations on graduating, Arlana! Good luck with law school — keep pursuing your dreams!

  2. Kissy Says:

    I am so proud of you!! All that time you spent ignoring us for studying and papers paid off, lord knows we didn’t make it easy! I don’t know how many papers I have sat through you writing in the last 2.5 years! I wish I could be there to watch you graduate!! I definitely will be in spirit!!

    I love you!
    <3
    Kissy

  3. RezIpsa Says:

    Congrats! And good luck in law school! I’m in my second year at a really, really progressive law school that I <3, and I'm possibly going into family law too! If you have any questions about law school shoot me a line! It can be really harrowing, but rewarding beyond belief. :)

  4. Brittany Says:

    Ty! And I love you too Tera! <333 Thanks for all your support and friendship over the last two years!

  5. Lizzie Lexington Says:

    Congrats fellow Okie! And being a former social worker myself, I wish you all the best in your chosen career path! Hugs!

  6. August 11th, 2010: Arlana GossipGirl – Cont’d « Two Three Six Five Says:

    […] Arlana’s previous post was on May 8th, 2010. […]

Leave a Reply

