July 21st, 2010: Heather Connolly

So I picked this date because it meant a lot to my RL.  Today is the three-year anniversary of the day I found out I was pregnant.  It marked a new chapter in my life, the greatest chapter yet.  I wanted to talk about that story, and the most important thing in my life – my son.

However, today is also a new anniversary, and one I’m not as happy to talk about.  A few hours ago I sat in my grandma’s house, surrounded by my family I hardly see (we’re out of town), and I said goodbye.  It was hard to do.  I don’t want to lose her, I don’t want my son to not know her, I don’t want to miss her…  what I do want is for my vivacious, free-spirited grandma to be happy and not suffer.  And the only way for that to happen, is for us to let her go.

Its been over 3 years since she was diagnosed with lung cancer.  She’s a fighter, and one of the most selfless and amazing people I’ve ever met.  It sucks to let her go, but I’m filled with memories and love. And I know wherever she is she’s happy, pain-free, and looking down on us.

I love you, grandma Nita.  More than words can say.

____________________

Heather Connolly is the owner of [astraia] in Second Life.  In real life, she’s a 25 year old mommy to the most amazing little man in the world, and a cosmetology student.

One Response to “July 21st, 2010: Heather Connolly”

  1. Starfire "Star" Silverstar Says:

    I send to you big big hugz, love, and blessings! I too know the loss of someone dear due to cancer. Please know that I am here for you! (cozy)
    Just think of the happy memories and of the wonderful anniversary that this day also represents!! That beautiful boy that was just a little wiggle in your tummy three short years ago!! :D
    Hugz and Xxxses to you!!! MUWAH!!!
    ~Star

Leave a Reply

