July 25th, 2010: Frostie Melody

In August 2009, I moved to Baltimore, Maryland to begin my Masters in Electronic Media….
During November of that year I decided to join Second Life not really knowing what I was going to do, but hopefully find a way to generate art in some form.  My focus is in Video and Installation and I was hoping to find content for a series of works…. This didn’t happen.  But what did happen was a way to find creative individuals, creative expression with minimal risk.
Moving to Baltimore was a big change.  I left my beloved Austin, Texas to live in an old city, full of crime and crabs, knowing not much of anyone, except for my program mates.  Being a social person Second Life fulfilled what I was missing in real life.  A group of great friends.
One day I stumbled on a location pick for The Laundromat, an indie music club, and decided to check it out.  I went and was surprised at all the good music that I heard, and the friendly people I met.  In Austin we would throw large dance parties in our house, and the feeling I felt at the Laundro was similar to the fun times I had back home.  I met a ton of interesting people that helped to nurture the musical bug that had laid dormant in the transition of moving.  I began DJing at a few places inworld.  It forced me to consistently find new music to share and opened a dialogue about music amongst other things.  So far I find myself a bit addicted to SL, which may or may not be a bad thing, I have made some close friends inworld.  The amount of sharing and exchanging of oneself and identity is what keeps me here.

____________________

Frostie Melody lives in Baltimore, MD and attends art school at M.I.C.A.  She currently DJ’s at The Laundromat on Thursdays and Bombay Indie on Fridays.

Leave a Reply

