July 27th, 2010: Vintage McMillan

TODAY. I saw Salt with one of my best friends. She and I are suckers for any movie with AngieJo shootin’ up the bad guys and being a downright badass. In saying that, I had every intention of making some cheesy post about how much I enjoy salty foods and then smoothly segueing into a fangirlish outrage about how much I’d love to be a badass in real life.

That was, until I left my phone in my friend’s car. She and I live in opposite directions from the movie theater, so my only way of getting my phone back was to floor it home as fast as possible so I could call her and have her meet me back at the parking lot. Mind you, I was without my phone for no more than a half hour, but, to be honest, I felt inept. I felt like without my phone I was unable to do anything, like I would have to sit in a corner and rot away until I had it again. This got me thinking, Second Life has become such a part of my life, such a part of my daily routine, that if for some reason I lost access to it I would feel useless. I’ve come to have so many amazing friends that have been through so much with me and if for any reason I couldn’t talk to them I’d feel like a part of me was missing.

In Second Life today I spent a good 5 or 6 hours working on a bodysuit that I still haven’t perfected. I mean, what would I do with my time if I didn’t have things to make? People to talk to? Things to buy? Sure, there’s real life, but my life would be running an entirely different course altogether. I wouldn’t be writing this post. I wouldn’t be sitting in Photoshop painting virtual clothing. I wouldn’t be IMing people in other countries that I never would have met otherwise. Who knows what I’d be doing. What I do know, however, is that I like both lives exactly the way they are.

____________________

Vintage McMillan is an out-spoken, over-thinking 20-year-old residing in ~scenic New Jersey. His skillset includes giving side-eye, judging you silently, knowing when to say ‘Ooo gurl,’ and of course, TYPING WITH CAPSLOCK ON.

2 Responses to “July 27th, 2010: Vintage McMillan”

  1. Katey Coppola Says:

    OOO GURL.

    Ily <3

  2. Ashe Anthony Says:

    I love this entry. So true.

Leave a Reply

