August 6th, 2010: Victoria Sabra

I’ve been meaning to sign up for Two Three Six Five for ages now, but I’m kind of glad it’s happening now, when things seem to be taking an upturn for me. After more than a year of looking for work and trying to make do with occasional freelance writing assignments, I just got my dream job as a copy editor. Editing is my profession of choice, and now I get to work from home and set my own hours.

That might seem like a luxury to many people, but for me, it’s almost a necessity. Just over five years ago I was in a car accident that left me with a concussion and neck injuries. Shortly afterwards, I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I’d never heard of it until my diagnosis, but I’ve since talked to many people who have it or are close to someone who does. It’s not life-threatening but can be debilitating.

I’m lucky in that respect. The pain isn’t nearly so bad for me. What gets me is the fatigue, which can be overwhelming. Most of the time the condition is fairly easy to manage as long as I don’t overdo things, but on a bad day, I could fall asleep on the amplifier at a heavy metal concert. I used to work 60+ hours a week as the assistant sports editor of a daily newspaper. I could never do that now. When my fibro flares up, it’s all I can do to get out of bed.

I think dealing with fibro is a big part of why I took to Second Life™ in such a big way. I know lots of things on my life’s to-do list won’t get done – I’ll probably never skydive or hang glide. But inworld I’ve done both, plus sailed across oceans, scaled cliffs and gone on safari. And Shoe Fair kicks off today. You can bet I’ll be there; virtual high heels don’t make you feet hurt!

Not that real life can’t be fun too – I’m going to a Phillies game in a few weeks!

____________________

Victoria Sabra lives in Pennsylvania, USA, and admits to being 29… for a while now. When she’s not spending Lindens, she likes to read, draw and dabble in music. She also enjoys blogging (http://meowmommy.net/SecondBlog). Mirror: http://victoriasabra.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

