August 15th, 2010: Bronson Twine

Music is the sound of emotions and I doubt I’d be able to exist without it.

It started when I was thirteen and I went to the local market to buy my first 7” single. They didn’t have what I wanted so I bought the song that was No.1 in the charts – partly because I felt the need to buy something but mainly because the man behind the counter was old and angry-looking and I didn’t want him to shout at me.

After that I bought anything that my modest amount of pocket money would allow, raking through the bargain bin at my local Woolworths on a regular basis and snapping up records by bands I’d read about in Smash Hits. It didn’t matter that all I had to play them on was my mothers battered, old record player. It didn’t matter that I had to tape a five pence piece to the arm to stop the needle from jumping. All that mattered was that I could press my ear to the speaker and lose myself in music that was mine.

Since then my taste in music has changed but my love of it has never faltered and it’s never let me down. I’ve found songs that make me think and songs that make me cry. There’s songs I can wrap around myself like an old blanket and songs that take me back to certain times in my life, be they good or not so good. Music has been there to hold my hand when I’ve needed strength and been there to comfort me when strength has failed me.

But its the discovery of the new that keeps me interested – the anticipation of finding that next song that’s so damn good it feels like a ball of pure excitement and joy could explode from my chest as I listen.

And because of that there is part of me that will always be that thirteen year old boy with his ear pressed against the speaker.

____________________

Bronson Twine is a blogger of pixel clothing who lives in the North East of England. His current favourite word is aardvark.

3 Responses to “August 15th, 2010: Bronson Twine”

  1. Suti Capalini Says:

    So good, Bronson! I can relate to it a lot. Glad you decided to be a part of this, too. :)

  2. Stacie Pryor Says:

    <3

  3. Tuli Asturias Says:

    So relating to this! I started buying my own records when I was 8. Music was my first love, and it will be my last! Nothing evokes such deep and varied emotions in me as music does. Beautifully worded, Bronson.

Leave a Reply

