September 15th, 2010: Perion Leominster

“Who’s that? Renee?”

My boyfriend, Jack, was observing the scene on my monitor: Gabby, Hallie, Renee and I were congregated on Hallie’s land, talking in voice.

I replied, “Yes, that’s Renee. That’s Hallie. And that’s Gabby.” as I pointed out their respective avatars.

Jack leaned in towards my mic and loudly said, “Hey! You all need to get off Second Life! If YOU do, Jackie will!”

That’s right. My real name is Jackie. He is Jack. Together we are Jack and Jackie, a fact so disgustingly charming that it makes me nauseous to think about it.

Hallie quickly retorted, “Fuck you, dude!” The others laughed.

Having heard Jack babble incessantly in the background many times before, my friends have come to understand him; he’s obnoxious but it’s never his intention to offend. Hallie’s reply was warranted.

Not that it deterred Jack, however: “Gabby! Take your top off!” I rolled my eyes and waved my hand in gesture for him to go away. He did. Reluctantly.

Jack doesn’t understand Second Life or my love for it. Similarly, I don’t understand how he can watch a four-hour golf tournament on TV without falling into a boredom-induced coma. Somehow, though, we make it work.

Today I hear Jack bellowing, “Hello, dear!” as I do every afternoon when he gets home from work. I greet him with a kiss and remind him that today is our anniversary.

He replies, “Ahh, that’s right! C’mon then. We’ll go out for dinner.” We decide to go to one of the neighborhood pubs.

As we travel to our destination, Jack casually asks, “So how many years has it been anyway? Thirty? Forty?”

Expressionless, I turn to him and say, “Seven, you asshole.”

“Really? Seems longer.”
“That’s because you’re an idiot.”
“I must be. Look who I’m with.”
“Wanna make out?”
“With who? You?”
“Yeah.”
“No.”

We arrive at the pub, walk inside and sit at the bar.  Upon seeing us, the bartender serves us our usual without question having done the same many times before.

“Cheers, babe!” Jack exclaims, holding up his bottle of Heineken, “May the next fifty years be better than the first!”

____________________

Perion Leominster ’s typist was born and raised in New York and, after a seven year stint in Los Angeles, currently resides in northern New Jersey with Jack and their two feline furbabies, Loo and Boo. She spends her days doing the 9-to-5 thing working in international logistics and her evenings at the computer, surfing the web, playing mindless games or logged into SL where she explores, shops, chats with friends and contemplates her next blog post. Perion blogs with Gabby McCullough, Hallie Galli and Renee Harvy on http://slexandthecity.wordpress.com/

3 Responses to “September 15th, 2010: Perion Leominster”

  1. Hallie Galli Says:

    Jack still needs to STFU <3 Love you P! <333

  2. Gabby McCullough Says:

    Wow, Jack is hot!! I had no idea!

    I <3 you too, and now I kinda <3 Jack a little too. :|

  3. Perion Leominster Says:

    Jack loves both of you. Me, not so much.

    I kid. Love all around, dahlings. <3

Leave a Reply

