September 16th, 2010: Kat Alderson – Cont’d

Woke up excited, literally leapt out of bed. Started singing What a Wonderful World. Of course, with sleep in my voice, sounding a little more like Louis Armstrong than I would normally be comfortable with, but today, who cares?

I’m alive. I’m healthy. More than enough to put a song in my heart and on my lips. There have been some close calls in my life.

A day off. I actually scheduled one. My third one this year. People who love me. People I would gladly die for. A day stretching out, rife with love.

Catch up properly with Mike, as our very long summer travel seasons draw a to close. Sharing little details, little victories, little sorrows that unshared over the past two months as planes crossed paths time and again over the continental US. Sharing everything – little things that leave their marks, change us, shape us, make us better and make us older. Big things that will change the course of our lives and the courses of others. Nothing better than talking, really talking, with someone whom you can share anything and everything.

Brisk walk with my brother and my wolfhounds. No words necessary. Sometimes the early autumn wind in your hair, a collective history, a bird taking flight, are enough.

Lunch with Their Royal Highnesses the Princesses Carly and Merribeth. Conversational colors of pinktastic and purpleclasmic. Smiles. Giggles. Wonder. Joy. And frappes.

Calls to Their Royal Highnesses, the Princes Bryce and Corey. College stuff. Cool stuff. Send me stuff. Miss you. Love you. Love you, too!

Picking up His Royal Highness, the Prince Nicholas. Getting the rundown on his… girlfriend? Wait. Mental shudder. (My Nicky has a GIRLFRIEND?) Mom, you don’t understand! If I didn’t understand I wouldn’t be horrified. (Nor would a little part of me be secretly pleased. I do remember what it is like to be a teenager.) I love you, Nicky. God, mom, I love you, too, but are you going to be weird about this? When am I not weird?

Second Life. My third rezday. Flurry of instant messages. Laughter. Friends. I <3 you. ILY2.

Thank you for giving me cause to celebrate.

____________________

Kat Alderson is deeply ashamed of being late with this entry. She’s normally a freak for punctuality. But the day was overwhelming, and she fell asleep on the couch, instead of getting her butt back upstairs to send the post to Trace. She’s also the owner of Cad & Tart and Clutter in Second Life, and the co-owner of Wind River Territory with Noble Charron in Second Life. In first life, Kat Klaybourne is a motivational speaker, author, consultant, single mother of five wonderful children, six dogs and four cats. She resides in Wayne, New Jersey and Dubois, Wyoming.

Kat’s previous post was on April 18th, 2010.

One Response to “September 16th, 2010: Kat Alderson – Cont’d”

  1. Cyclic Gearz Says:

    You’re an inspirational lady, Kat.

    I love the rhythm of this post very much!

Leave a Reply

