September 19th, 2010: Ritch Nicholls

Today is my birthday.  I turn 25 years old.

Three months ago I graduated from college — with honors too.  Who would have guessed that?  I definitely wouldn’t have. I’ve never been a school kind of person.

I’m told this is where my life really begins.  I have my entire future ahead of me.

That’s what’s scary though.  I have no idea what to do with my life.  Sometimes I feel like there is so much I still need to figure out and learn about myself.

However, let me tell you what I do know.

I hate to wake up early and I like to stay up late.  I like to read, write, and I enjoy watching movies.  I’m a quiet person with a sarcastic side.   I’m working toward my perfect body, but I have a weakness for chocolate chip cookies and diet soda.  Oh, and I have a pet chinchilla named Stravos Pompeii  the III (but there was never a I or II).

I’m an emotionally charged person who hates to sometimes share their feelings.  I’m one of those people who think with their heart instead of using their head, but when I finally use my head I regret not following my heart.

My confidence is growing, but I still doubt myself a lot.

I have a ton of ideas, plenty of hopes and dreams.  I’m just worried I won’t succeed.

I know I have friends who care. I may have to use an avatar to interact with them or pick up a phone to hear their voice, but that doesn’t make our bond any less special.  I know our friendship is real and they mean the world to me.

They tell me everything will be okay.  I believe them.  I trust them with all my heart.

I’m not sure what the future holds.  But that’s what’s supposed to be so exciting, right?  I guess we will see.

I recently was told the hardest thing in this world is to live in it.  You have to be brave. Live.

Right now I’m not so sure I believe in myself.

Luckily for me, I have some people in my life who do.

____________________

Ritch Nicholls is 25 years old from Chicago, Illinois.  In RL he graduated with a writing degree and is trying to figure out what to do next.  In  SL he is a Host/DJ/Manager for Jake’s Club and Store Manager of [Lazybum].  He also enjoys spending time with his best friends and his close companion, Luciano Enoch.

8 Responses to “September 19th, 2010: Ritch Nicholls”

  1. Cole Delpiaz Says:

    you bring laughter and joy to so many people Ritch. thank you for being an awesome friend.

  2. Tyler Ethaniel Says:

    I hope today was a very special day for you….are you are a very special person and most of all friend (rl/sl)… You are right sometimes the hardest thing in this world is to live in it… but sometimes its also the most beautiful…. Trust and Believe in yourself and you will see that its not so hard after all. As a friend I open my hand and invite you to see what a journey life can be….

    Love,

    Tyler xoxo

  3. Draenar Dubrovna Says:

    Happy Birthday, Ritch.

    There is no requirement that you know, today, where you should be. That’s natural.

    Moreover, as far as you have come in life, there are changes ahead of you still, so don’t be concerned that you have doubts at times. That also is natural.

    Just know that you are a really good person — I haven’t known you long, but that has been the constant with you at all times.

    Welcome to the new phase in your life!

  4. Luciano Enoch Says:

    I have no doubt your life will turn out wonderful. You deserve no less. Cause you’re a wonderful human being, a truly fun and caring friend. Spending time with you is always a blast. Believe in yourself. I believe in you because I know you. And knowing you made my life richer (no pun intended).
    Your RL friend and SL companion,
    Luci

  5. Perion Leominster Says:

    I’m *cough* 40 years old *cough* and I STILL have no idea what I want to do with my life.

    I’m happy, though. That’s what matters. Happiness. May you have your share always. Happy Birthday.

  6. ~~Sunshine~~ Says:

    Ritch, your words could never be more true and so evidently from the heart. Thank you for sharing them on your own special day. You did it well! As you age, you do experience things through your own explorations and those thrust upon you by others. Embrace them, learn from them and don’t be afraid to “leap” out of that box. I don’t know you so well…but I do know some of those close to you. You have a great group surrounding you in a virtual space with friendships that most definitely transcend (see Tyler’s comment up there?). Believe in yourself, believe in your friendships and strive for happiness…success will follow :) Hope your birthday was a happy one… and thank you again – your words touched my heart and now everyone in my office will wonder why my eyes are so damp :)

  7. Boot Janus Says:

    Ritch,

    Happy Belated birthday. I hope you had a wonderful day. You my friend hold the fire of great ambition in your heart. It will lead you to your success. Much love to you and hope it always lights your path.

  8. Divos Titanium Says:

    Ritchie, you are such an exquisite friend, and you have truly touched the hearts of so many people. My life has been changed for the better knowing you, and if only there were more people on this earth with your kindness and generosity, the world would be such a better place. You are destined for great things, so hold your head high and know that you will do well. Love you!

Leave a Reply

