September 22nd, 2010: Gwendolyn Weston

When I signed up to do this, I had a plan. I knew I would write about how much better I was feeling after taking the first steps towards a better treatment for my long-term illness.  Well, that didn’t quite work out as planned – I’m still on the same old treatment.  So then, I was thinking I’d write about how much of a struggle it is to change treatment and how I felt about the past 9 years of my life.  About how I use SL to experience all those things I have felt deprived of thanks to a diagnosis at a young age and sub-optimal treatment.

Then I realized that most people who will read this have no idea who I am. I am making a first, and probably ONLY, impression with this entry.  I don’t want you to hear me whine on about lost time – we all encounter that struggle at some point in our lives – I’d rather you meet me at the beginning of my journey to a new and improved life.  Meet me while I’m full of resolve and a sense of purpose.  While I am still convinced that I am going to feel better than I have in 10 years, and how I will rediscover (or discover for the very first time) the joy and love that I can have in my 1st life.

I admit, SL has had a positive impact aside from just being a substitute for life events I haven’t been able to experience.  I will be attending my first ever music festival this weekend thanks to having fallen in love with the SL music scene.  I’ve made some fabulous friends, had some amazing laughs, and explored new directions of creativity in the past 3 years, while learning a lot about myself.

However, if you never hear of me again, then hopefully it’s because I’ve completed the steps toward my goal, and I no longer need SL to substitute for the life I wish I could’ve had these past years.

I can’t recapture the lost time, but I will be damn sure to live the hell out of the time I’ll be fighting so hard to reclaim.

____________________

Gwendolyn Weston is approaching her 3rd Rezday on 9/29 and has dabbled in everything from DJing, photography, fashion and building in SL.  By far, her biggest accomplishments have been to make some amazing friends and acquaintances while increasing her music collection exponentially.  In RL, she is a librarian, animal lover, travel nut, and single 26-year-old living in the same small, Ohio town she grew up in but dreaming of her next foreign trip.

One Response to “September 22nd, 2010: Gwendolyn Weston”

  1. Iggy Says:

    Just stopping by to say hi. While I don’t have a SL account anymore, I wonder how my friends are doing. Glad to have been able to read this – I hope you are doing well. Miss you!

    Iggy~

Leave a Reply

