September 30th, 2010: Scarlot Verrazzano

I am sure you have them, everyone does. I’m talking about a date that you’ll always remember. September 30th is one of mine. It’s not a birthday, anniversary or any other joyous occasion. Today , in 2008, my Mother lost her battle with Cancer.

When I woke this morning, I remembered the last thing my Mother had said to me. She was in the ICU, I was going home to get some rest. I kissed & hugged her, told her I loved her and I would see her in the morning. Just as I was leaving , she called me back, just to do it all over again. She said that she just wanted to make sure that I knew she loved me very much! I laughed and told her I loved her too. I did see her, but those were the last words she ever said to me. She died that afternoon.

Losing her has been really hard. Just a few months ago, My Mom gave me something to hold on to..she came to me in a dream.

It was a normal dream. I was in a house, much like the one I grew up in, with a man (whom I don’t know). She was there, always in the background. She was either folding laundry, or drying dishes. I would talk to her. One day I told her, “I really need to stop talking to you.” She looked puzzled and said, “Why, cuz I am dead?” I laughed, “Uhm, yes–they are going to lock me away.” She then turned to me really serious and said, “Cindy, I will be here for as long as you need me. I am not going anywhere!” I call that dream a gift. Like always, She knew what I needed, and gave it to me.

So, now… I sit on our land, in that special place I made just for her. Thinking about her and how she had touched my life . She is smiling down on me because she knows I still need her, and she is willing to wait. Mom, if you’re listening, I miss you so much!

____________________

Scarlot Verrazzano was born and raised in the Chicagoland area. She currently shares ownership of Thorndale Gallery with her partner, Pat Keenan. She is a writer for the Art & Entertainment Section of the Icon Lifestyle Magazine. She would like all of you to call your parents today… just to tell them you LOVE them! She wishes she could do that to hers.

5 Responses to “September 30th, 2010: Scarlot Verrazzano”

  1. jmb Says:

    Hugs Scarlot. Your mother was very special to you and this is a very special word memorial to her.

    JMB Balogh in SL

  2. Laharan Rhiadra Says:

    This is beautiful. I don’t know what else to say other than that and that I’m so glad that you know she hasn’t gone far and she’ll be there with open arms waiting when its your turn too.

    *hugs you tight*

  3. ~~Sunshine~~ Says:

    Thank you for sharing, Scarlot – Beautifully written in such a loving manner. *hugs* Your relationship with your mom sounds like a very special, loving relationship…and yes, she will be there for you forever. :)

  4. Pat Kenaan Says:

    Gets teary…reaches out and holds your hand. Written from the heart Scarlot. And I did light two candles for you yesterday. ly

  5. Chance G. Says:

    I did call my mom today, and having read this I have a knot in my throat..so touching and I am so sorry for your loss!..Big hugs!

Leave a Reply

