October 6th, 2010: Persey Garcia

On this day, four years ago, I was faced with a very important decision. I had just learned of my pregnancy a few days prior, during an “off” period of the father’s on-and-off relationship. I thought about how easy it would be to have an abortion, never tell him, and move on as if nothing happened. Instead, I decided to keep the baby. And the father decided to leave.

It was during the few months after my son was born that I returned to Second Life. My original intent was to explore and travel this virtual world to satisfy my hunger, as I spent every night home alone with an infant. The travel led me to people, and people turned into friends. I was soon able to satisfy my other hunger, my need for human contact and adult conversation.

Today I live in a virtual community named Dork Street with my SL partner, and I realize I’ve satisfied a third hunger that I didn’t even know I had. Here I have the friends I never had in my first life. Caring, wonderful people that have renewed my faith in humanity. Today in my first life, I have an amazing little boy that makes me so proud every day. I have financial stability and a loving home (that even includes a cat now). Today I look at myself and see the confidence and happiness I had lost so long ago. I actually feel proud of myself, too.

Four years ago I made one of the best decisions of my life so far, because none of this would be here if I had made that other choice. Thank you for reading, and being a part of who I am today.

____________________

Persey Garcia is a 30 year old single mom from Ontario, Canada. She is a bit obsessive with music, and is a DJ on SecondLife. She also loves to cook and eat, and she talks about food often. Especially jalapenos or bacon… mmm, bacon…

4 Responses to “October 6th, 2010: Persey Garcia”

  1. Ashe Anthony Says:

    You are amazing and wonderful!
    I am glad to be considered a friend of yours and to have met you :)

  2. Meila Solo Says:

    You are a great person to know Persey and you should be very proud of yourself! ♥

  3. Adie Msarko(the greatest neighbor) Says:

    Persey, I have been blessed to know you and I’m so glad to have you as a neighbor. You have the cutest little boy in the world and you’re an amazing mom!!

  4. Isadora Says:

    Awh, Persey! I appreciate having you as a neighbor and a friend. I believe it is really hard to find genuine, kind people on SL and I am really glad we have our friendship. I heart you!

    P.S. you are the most badass DJ everrrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

