October 20th, 2010: Airedine Poe

I am a sixth level cleric.

No, I don’t frequent RP sims in Second Life.

Once a month myself and a large group of my friends (as well as a few people I don’t much care for at all) drive up to a local group camping ground and stay there for the weekend. Yes. I larp. (Live Action Role Play)

Now hold on- try to stay with me as some part of your mind recoils at the thought of sweaty overweight socially awkward and sexually deprived nerds with lisps and retainers traipsing around the forest in plate mail. It’s not like that. Ok, it’s not ALL like that.

Once a month I don a personality that is not entirely my own. I can do what I want- be who I want to be. Fear of death and undeath aside- it’s a lot simpler. I know what my skills are, and how to use them. I don’t have bills to pay and as long as I’ve paid for my meal plan, I don’t have to worry about whether or not I’ll have three square meals a day. For one weekend a month I’m surrounded by family. By people who love me and protect me against the forces of evil. Forces of evil- may I add- who are easily recognizable by their lack of flesh, horns or sinewy tendrils.

Before I started all this, I had no real group of friends. I was in a string of really shitty relationships. I was in a staggering amount of debt. I was seeing a therapist. I was having daily anxiety attacks.

So beating your friends as they dress up as monsters with a weapon you made from foam and PVC piping may not be your ideal way to spend a weekend, and that’s fine.

Since I’ve started I’ve lost weight, I don’t have anxiety attacks, I have a cool roommate (larper), I have awesome friends (larpers), and the guy I’m dating (larper) is the best boyfriend I’ve ever had.

I’m a nerd- there’s no doubt. I’d be offended if you said I wasn’t.

I’m also the happiest I’ve been in a very long time.

____________________

Airedine Poe is 22, lives in Canada, is taking a year off from going to school for animation, makes things for her store Adore&Abhor in Second Life, and moonlights as a priestess of Bacchus in a live-action fantasy roleplay once a month. Sometimes she also plays a vampire in the dark ages. She enjoys drawing, designing, playing videogames, watching movies where things blow up, adding obscure English words to her vocabulary, and being awesome. True story.

One Response to “October 20th, 2010: Airedine Poe”

  1. October 25th, 2010: Airedine Poe – Cont’d « Two Three Six Five Says:

    […] Airedine’s previous post was on October 20th, 2010. […]

Leave a Reply

