October 21st, 2010: Terrie Dreadlow

This isn’t easy for me. I have a hard enough time opening up to people I’ve known for a long time. So for me to write words for a blog that anyone can see does not come easily. I know I am supposed to write about today, what this day has been in RL and SL. Today was me watching the rain, drinking coffee and trying to gather thoughts that were all over the place. I spent 20 minutes on SL and all I wanted was to go back to my coffee and thoughts.

I could blame the way I am on shyness or being an introvert, but it’s so much more than that. It’s a wall I put around myself that keeps me on the outside looking in. Wanting to jump in, always stopping myself.  Expressing myself and hitting back space, or hitting enter and wishing I could take it back. I watched my son today wishing I could be more like him. He is a fearless, outgoing, friendly little extrovert.  He loves being the center of attention, and having people around him all the time. I have my moments when I am like him, then I freeze up and just want to run.  Today was one long moment of wanting to run.

When I picked this date three weeks ago, I was planning on today being a good day. Didn’t really work out that way, and my head is not where I wanted it to be when I wrote this. Today I spent a lot of  time trying to figure out what I would be okay writing about. How much I could let go, open up, say something personal.  It didn’t turn out to be much.

____________________

Terrie Dreadlow was born and raised in Los Angeles, but is ready to get out.  She has worked in fashion and architecture, neither one turned out to be as glamorous as she thought they would be. What is glamorous and exciting is being a stay at home mom for her 10-year-old son, and not missing a minute of his life.  In SL she owns Has Been, a vintage and alternative inspired clothing shop.  When she’s on SL she spends most of her time hiding in her skybox working.  Every once in while she go on a tangent of silliness and fun with her partner.

2 Responses to “October 21st, 2010: Terrie Dreadlow”

  1. Honey Says:

    Very brave of you to do this post Terrie….I’m glad to have met you :)

  2. Ellie Says:

    haha I filled out the form and got all the way to this box with no idea what I wanted to say…

    Just wanted you to know that I read it… and appriciated your post more than any other I have read. It was pure, honest, and it was genuine.

    From one introvert to another, thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

