October 24th, 2010: Alicia Chenaux – Cont’d

 

October 24th has always meant something to me. If anything was going to happen to me in October, it was going to be on the 24th, which is why I chose to continue my story on this day. I had thought that this year, the 24th would have me celebrating my first charity 5K in many years.  But, life doesn’t always go quite as planned and I was stricken with “the plague” earlier last week.  I guess I wasn’t meant to do it this time around, and as much as I am upset about it, it has to be okay.  Everything happens for a reason.

That’s been something I’ve lived by for a long time.  Every experience teaches something.  Every person who enters our lives is there for a purpose.  Sometimes we don’t know what that purpose is, or where it’s all going to lead to, and maybe we’re not meant to know.  It’s why I’ve had very few regrets in my life.  Oh sure, there are a few things I wish I could do over.  There are a few people I wish I could speak with again.  But for the most part, I keep believing that everything happens for a reason and one day, I might understand what that reason is.

So instead of celebrating a 5K, I spent the 24th quietly.  I talked to a few friends in Second Life, attempted to do a few things around both my SL and my physical world homes, and rested my lungs.  There will be other charity events.  There will be more time to train.  It’s okay if this October 24th was a quiet one.  There will always be another one next year.

____________________

Alicia Chenaux still lives in Texas, still blogs like mad, and still spends too much time playing with her phone.  Since her last post here, she’s kicked the mad caffeine habit, has decided that aqua is just as good as pink, and thinks that baking is probably the best therapy in the world.

Alicia’s previous post was on April 24th, 2010.

One Response to “October 24th, 2010: Alicia Chenaux – Cont’d”

  1. Sophia Harlow Says:

    <3 love…and lots of it.

Leave a Reply

