November 8th, 2010: Jonay Twine

I look across my room and see the two “gummy bears” on my dresser. “Saline or Silicone?” it what goes through my mind for the next 30 minutes or so. I wish that I was just getting my surgery for pure vanity not because I made the choice to have a prophylactic removal of breasts. It was a choice that I made for myself after losing my mother this year after her long fight with breast cancer. My sister and I both tested positive for BRCA gene. It was a choice that was made without hesitation and as my mom would say “Put your big girl panties on and deal with it the best way possible.”

The craziest thing is that I signed up for 365 when SL was a big part of my life. My morning, my afternoon, my night. Being trapped at home for 3 months after having heart surgery (born with Atrial Spetal Defect makes life a little more interesting) made me stumble onto Second Life. And I have done it all and then a little extra more on the side. Met someone, “fell” in “love”, Second life family, and etc, etc.  And when I returned back to my “real life”, second life was still a major part in my life. Than everything changed, people changed, and Second Life just did not seem that important to log into everyday. Those that want to contact me always know where to find me.

I have been through so much this past year. The loss of my mother, the surgeries I have had, and a break-up that made my life ten times better, a move across the country and the list goes on. But I am thankful for the friendships I have made through second life and wouldn’t trade them for the world.

My second life now consist of logging on, checking to make sure the tiers are paid from my land business and logging off as soon as I can.

In the words of my one of my favorite artists Frida Kahlo, “I hope the leaving is joyful; and I hope to never return”

____________________

Jonay Twine is a 27 year old “blarican” female and military brat who is doing her surgical residency in Ohio. She is a roller derby all-star and BravoTV obsessed.

Leave a Reply

