November 9th, 2010: Angie Mornington

Today is another day that belongs to me. No frustrating subway commute, no office full of loud lunatics, no strange obnoxious boss.  Just me in my living room typing away, waiting for the coffee to brew.  And I love it.  I took a break from my job and have been on leave for several months, to literally get my mind and body right.  My weeks are now filled with rest and relaxation, physical therapy for my hand due to carpel tunnel surgery, and mental therapy for a brain that had finally reached it’s limit and demanded some attention.  Depression has always been the big elephant in the room for me, something that I tried really hard to ignore at first, going about my daily grind, which in my case was working 40 hours a week in RL media, and then coming home and working hours in SL as Host and Producer of Fabulous Fashion.  One day I woke up and the big elephant was sitting on my chest and hitting me in the head with its trunk. So it was time to make some changes and do a life review.

I have decided that the office is not for me, it’s a corporate hamster wheel, a place that stifles true creativity.  You end up forgetting about all the things you wanted to do and all the talents that you have, paying the bills is the never-ending priority, it’s what we as a society are trained to do.  People have become afraid to sit down and really think about how they wish to spend their lives, and I think that’s death to the soul.  So I decided to unsubscribe from all that and figure out how to live off of what I love. Maybe I’m turning into an urban hippie or anti establishment diva, I don’t know, I still haven’t fully figured it all out yet. But what I do know is that it feels good to focus on me and all the things in my life that need to be resolved.  I am ready to move on and take life to the next level.  Coffee’s ready!

____________________

Angie Mornington is 38 and living in Brooklyn NY. She was the Host of Fabulous Fashion which closed it’s doors a few weeks ago.  She now works directly with Treet TV which is Second Life’s premiere virtual television network, and is also working as Wardrobe Director for a new sci-fi machinima series, Awakening, which will be seen on Treet TV.

6 Responses to “November 9th, 2010: Angie Mornington”

  1. Chalice (Cha Cha) Carling Says:

    I loved Fabulous Fashion. You brought so much life and personality to the show. I’m so glad you were able to reassess your future and power to you for doing something about it. I wish you all the luck in the world. Thank you so much for your incredible contribution to SL fashion.

  2. Lourdes Denimore Says:

    I know exactly how you feel. I hope you reach your happy place. Those of us still in the hampster wheel are rooting for ya. *hugs*

  3. Felicity Blumenthal Says:

    I think you are incredibly brave to break away from what we’ve been told to do our whole lives. I imagine the road ahead of you will be a struggle, but well worth it.

  4. sevenstarsimages Says:

    its so sad that “normal life”, career and work makes people sick and empty, it shouldn´t be like that. I decided years ago, to work from my house and on my own. This gives me freedom of all the things, people in the hamster wheel have to suffer-but also lots of metrial insecurity-yet I allways would choose freedom again.

    Good luck to you Angie, get well and sane soon, you will find your way for sure! you have so many extraorinary abilities and strengh:)

  5. Elle Couerblanc Says:

    Media is a tough gig for women I hear. My forever BFF actually worked in NYC for one of the media giants and I would visit her often. Through her I met other women in both print and television as well. Depression and overall job dissatisfication seemed to be a common theme in our conversations. Makes me wonder if it goes back to the old concept of the glass ceiling. Are women in media still treated as office decor too often?

  6. Angie Mornington Says:

    Thank you everyone I am really touched by your responses.

    @Elle because the public has this addictive need for cheap entertainment the media industry has changed to accommodate that. Truth and integrity is not a priority like it used to be, and with so many newspapers and magazines dying out they are all trying to stay ahead of the game and make enough revenue. So I have watched good journalists get laid off or shoved to the side, because the atmosphere in the newsroom has changed so much. Reliable news sources that report the important things will become even more rare because most of the media is chasing after half talented twits or dealing in political agendas instead of giving the public the information they need to hear. The industry is just not what it used to be.

Leave a Reply

