November 17th, 2010: Hallie Galli – Cont’d

So, today is my third rezzday.  I picked this day because I figured I would have a desire to rant and rave about SL.  The reality is, I haven’t wanted a break more than I do right now.  The thing I did accomplish today however, was finally getting through a book…

In real life, I usually have about 3 books in rotation that I’m reading.  I’ve been struggling with A Gate At The Stairs by Lorrie Moore for a good couple of months.  It’s not a big book by any means, I just couldn’t get into it.  It was sad really.  I mean, Lorrie Moore is probably my favorite author of all time.  When she writes, it’s like she’s in your brain thinking the same exact things that you’re thinking.  So when this novel came out vs. a short story…I was really excited!  The one thing I do do is highlight things she says. Every book of hers are pages and pages of dogearred highlighted pages. So…I’m just going to end this with a quote that I did enjoy and I kind of feel like currently…

“What I really felt like was this: chopped down like a tree, a new feeling, and I was realizing that all new feelings from here on in were probably bad ones. Surprises would no longer be good. And feelings might take on actual physical form, like those sad fish lips, a mouth speared into a gasping silence, or worse…Sometimes I would wake too early in my bed and would feel my foot flap beneath the sheet, and I wouldn’t know at first that it was mine. I felt only the movement of the cool sheet, and it felt like someone else was there, in the bed with me, but I would quickly turn to see there was no one; it was always just me.”

____________________

Hallie Galli lives in Connecticut.  Currently in SL, she’s organizing The Seasons Hunt/Winter that isn’t until January.

Hallie’s previous post was on June 26th, 2010.

One Response to “November 17th, 2010: Hallie Galli – Cont’d”

  1. Perion Leominster Says:

    <3

Leave a Reply

