December 12th, 2010: Bronson Twine – Cont’d

I’m not well at the moment.

Some may say that’s always been the case. Some will say that it’s just man-flu. All I know is that I ache in places I didn’t know I had, my nose is sore and red and some alien being has taken up residence in my head. I know it’s there because it’s squeezing my brain to make itself some extra room and it’s leaking mutant goo out through my nose. If the little bugger invites it’s alien buddies around for an evening of karaoke and line dancing, I will not be pleased.

As a result of this I’ve not been spending a whole lot of time in Second Life. I’ve popped in to check messages. I’ve popped in to try and blog. But I just can’t concentrate and it bugs me because feeling ill is stopping me from doing the things I enjoy. But I have to keep telling myself that it’s OK. Second Life will still be there when I’m feeling better. My friends will still be there when I return and I can still keep in touch with them via Plurk so they’ll know I’m OK and I can keep up with what’s going on in their lives.

It’s easy for us to let Second Life to become a dominant force in our lives. It’s place where we can be what we want to be. A place where we can create. A place where we can meet fantastic (and not so fantastic people) from all over the world. But I’ve learned that I don’t have to log in every day. I don’t have to blog every day or even every week if I don’t feel like it. Instead of being tied to it I can just enjoy it when it suits me and when I have time. There’s other things I can do that are just as rewarding and on occasion I still have to remind myself of that.

So tonight I’ll concentrate on feeling better. I’ll listen to some music, eat some comfort food and maybe have an early night.

Second Life will still be there tomorrow.

____________________

Bronson Twine is currently curled up in bed with a box of tissues. When he’s not complaining about being ill he likes to blog about pixel clothing and take photos (portraits, because he’s yet to learn how to do anything else).

Leave a Reply

