December 27th, 2010: Suri Yangtz

Image by Kait Seidel

December 28th, just a few days prior to this New Year, and I can already feel the hope beginning to seep in.

Where does this hope come from? The answer to that question still eludes me, perhaps faith, would be the right answer. It is this time of the year that I feel the most thankful. Almost three years ago…it doesn’t feel like three years ago…I found a lump in my left breast. I received them a few days after Christmas, right before the New Year. It felt like the burden was mine and mine alone. So I faced the New Year, feeling that at the age of 28, diagnosed with cancer that I didn’t know what the year would bring.

I can’t help thinking about that day as I look out my window this afternoon, snow covering the ground, the roads quiet. Many things have changed in my life but my love of the New Year hasn‘t. I think for myself 2011, is going to be a year of empowerment, a chance to regain what was lost, and to love those around me. None of us will be here forever, this year I will try to remember to cherish what I have. I smile as I think about how I wouldn’t be in Second Life probably if it weren’t for that day three years ago, and I am grateful for that as well. I have met some amazing friends in world, who are a blessing in my life. I wish them all joy, happiness, and peace.

In real life, I just took a long walk before sitting down to write this. As soon as I am done I am going to catch up with my best friend, run a few errands, and later tonight I will log into Second Life and catch up with the comings and goings in this world. I look forward to my day and I am overwhelmed with a sense of happiness, I wouldn‘t have thought possible three years ago.

____________________

Suri Yangtz is normally a mess, and is quite skilled in the art of doing nothing. Procrastination is an adjective that describes her well and she has a love for artsy fartsy things. In real life she likes to spicy food and makes a mean martini. In second life, she is an occasional blogger, pose maker, amateur photographer and role-player. She has been in remission for almost three years and has a final message which she had to include here because it went over 365 words. Suri likes to talk a lot in both worlds. “For people out there who are going through a life changing event, or an emotional crisis, my heart goes out to you. I have been in those shoes all any of us can do is survive each day, realize that we are not alone, and that you are not a statistic. Much love this New Year. -S”

 

Leave a Reply

