January 13th, 2011: Isla Gealach

When I volunteered to do this blog project I had no idea what I was going to write about. How exciting can it be listening to me talk about how it never is going to stop raining here (I live in Scotland) or about how busy the crowd was at the playground today on the way to take my daughter to nursery. Then last night something expected and yet so shocking happened in RL it made me remember life is so, so short.

There is a woman in my life who has taken over the mother role from a mostly absent and very distant real mother. This woman took myself and my daughter in when we had nowhere to go, and she has been amazing in so many ways. If not for her I have no idea where I would be now, it certainly wouldn’t be here. Her best friend of 60+ years died of cancer yesterday. It wasn’t unexpected, she had been ill for a very long time. But in so many ways I think it was a total shock to us all. It’s amazing what your mind can convince you of, how you can live in denial and not make those final moments you always dream of having, even with plenty of warning. We were in denial it was happening, she was in denial it was happening to her. She was so proud, she didn’t want to admit she wasn’t well or needed help. No one could admit that any of us were letting time just slip through our fingers, that there would always be a bit more time to laugh and¬†reminisce. The end certainly wasn’t near. After all, we just saw you at New Years and you were fine.

She died alone. In a hospice. No family or friends were there in her final moments. Because she was fine, wasn’t she?

Tonight I’m going to cuddle my daughter, snuggle with the bf, hug my friend/mother, and enjoy life the way it was meant to be – with family and friends.

____________________

Isla Gealach is the owner of a complete hodgepodge of stuff… that calls itself Cheeky Pea after one of her RL daughter’s nickname. (1 kid – many names) She spends too much time standing around staring at a grid in SL, and in RL she is chief cook and bottle washer to one guy, one princess, and three crazy animals.

 

Leave a Reply

