February 19th, 2011: Alicia Chenaux – Cont’d

The older I get, the more I really appreciate the small things.  A really great glass of sweet tea.  A nice smelling candle.  A good morning text from someone I love.   It’s like pouring marbles into a glass vase, one at a time, filling it up to the top with goodness.

Today marked one year since my mother went into the hospital.  It was one of the scariest times of my life.  I went without sleep, without food, just to keep an eye on her at the hospital because she needed me.  It started a couple of months of extremely hard moments.  There was not a lot of good in that time, just 3am phone calls, visits to the emergency room, and fights with doctors.  I slept little, ate less, and tried not to completely lose my mind.  But eventually, it passed.  Things got better.  We were all a little battered up, but we survived. So today, my mom and I spent the day shopping and eating.  We laughed about her hospital trip last year, recalling the terrible smell of the hospital food, and how huge the wheelchair she rode on was.  We had fun today.  It was a far cry from last year, but I think if we hadn’t gone through all of that, we could never appreciate all of this.

A package of coconut M&Ms.  A compact of violet scented blush.  A kiss from a puppy and a hug from my parents.  Logging into Second Life and finding a few gifts.  All small things, but all wonderful things.  Each thing like a shiny marble filling up my life.  As the saying goes, my cup runneth over.

____________________

Alicia Chenaux is still writing way too much on various blogs, has terrible taste in TV shows and isn’t ashamed of it, and is still totally in love with her phone.  Since her last post, she’s gotten back on the caffeine, learned how to cook a mean steak, and has discovered the wonders of zumba.

One Response to “February 19th, 2011: Alicia Chenaux – Cont’d”

  1. Starfire "Star" Silverstar Says:

    /me comes by to pour another hug into your glass.
    it’s the simple things that mean so much <3
    (cozy) (girlkiss)

Leave a Reply

